top of page

It's raining...tacos...?!

The heavy rain meant that we had a late start today, to kill a bit of time while waiting for the weather to clear up, we started playing rain related songs. Rosanne came across this catchy tune which had us all laughing and dancing about, it certainly lifted our soggy spirits.

Most of the morning was spent cleaning and cataloguing finds. This was because it stayed quite damp and soggy, so we needed to do jobs that could happen under cover. Luckily, some of us still had a stash of tamarind balls to keep us motivated. I googled tamarind to find out if I could grow a plant from the seeds. What I didn't realise was that tamarind originated in Africa, but is commonly attributed to India, due to the mass cultivation and exportation. (Wikipedia is my friend). Another interesting fact, in keeping with the Leiden Caribbean research, is that the tamarind plant was introduced to South America in the 16th century by the Spanish and Portuguese. It grows in full sunlight in almost any type of soil.


This afternoon we continued working on the main site, I spent most of the afternoon on top of the spoil heap. I was helping Rockim and Noortje to check the large clumps of wet soil to make sure that no finds had been missed. The mud theme continued on the drive home, where we took a detour to sample some clay. It was supposedly a site the Kalinago used when they needed clay for pottery. Guess who got the fun job?

I started today's post with a musical theme, so to arrive full circle, I shall end with one too. I will apologise about the dark video, but a video file was the easiest thing to make in the field. This is the cacophony that I hear all night, every night. At first, I thought it was some sort of night bird, then I thought it might be some type of cricket, apparently it is a type of frog. So, of course, now I really want to find one. I wonder how loud they'll be up close...?


bottom of page