top of page

So many post holes...

Today I had the job of numbering features (post holes). Luckily for me, other people had already identified the post holes and inserted a nail in the middle (I'm still struggling to see the dark brown circles in the slightly lighter brown earth). So, I had to work out which zone, sector, and square of the grid system the post hole was located in, then give it the relevant feature number. I then had to record all the info relating to zone, sector, square etc in the feature list log. This sounds simple, but, once you get to square 9 (19, 29, 39 etc), the next square is 0 (10, 20, 30 etc) but in a new sector, which is fine, if you remember where all the different sectors are. I admit, I had to cheat a little and put a few nails in the section walls to remind myself of where I was in the system. The biggest issue was that the Dutch students who would normally be around to help me (who are experts with this system), were all off visiting the local school to do some outreach work. But, having been left to get on with it, I apparently only made a couple of small mistakes, which Rosanne and Finn helped me correct when they got back to site.


This afternoon we all went to visit Leaper's Hill (this is the view from the top). This is the site where the Amerindians decided to leap to their deaths on the rocks below rather than be subject to European colonisation. On the current site there is also a monument commemorating the event.

However, we were told by Angus (who is researching the legend) that the historic texts say that the site was behind the Catholic church. The current site and monument is behind the modern Catholic church, but, Angus was telling us that the original Catholic church was located near to the modern Anglican church. Naturally we went to investigate the site. A large mixed group of archaeologists trouping over the rough terrain on top of the cliff naturally brought attention. This resulted in an impromptu footy match between our boys and the local school boys (our boys clearly need the practice...).

bottom of page